Recent items

Latest Tourism Alliance News

Latest Industry News


Plenary Meeting Minutes

Background papers

26 Mar 2021

Creative teams confirmed for £120m 'Festival UK 2022'

Ten creative teams from across the UK have been selected to develop a series of events, public engagement programmes and virtual projects for the Festival UK 2022.

Taking place next year – and also dubbed "The Festival of Brexit" – the events will be designed to "bring people together" following the UK's exit from the European Union, by showcasing the best of the UK's art, culture, heritage, design and technology sectors.

The 10 teams announced on 24 March were selected from 30 shortlisted projects, which took part in a paid research and development phase, following a "rigorous assessment".

Each team will now be tasked with taking their ideas through to completion ready for next year’s festival.

The 10 events produced by the teams will include an immersive experience exploring the wonder of the human mind – organised by the Assemble + 8 Collective group, which includes composer Jon Hopkins and academics from the University of Sussex.

Another, by Collective Cymru led by National Theatre Wales, will combine science with live performances to produce an "experimental and inspiring form of transmedia storytelling".

Under the working title of Festival UK 2022 – a new name will be revealed closer to the time – the project is backed by £120m worth of funding from central goverment.

Preparations are being led by Martin Green CBE, who has been named as chief creative officer. Green also holds the role of chief creative officer for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden said: "These ten showstopper projects will wow audiences in towns and cities right across the country, and show off the UK and its creative genius to the world.

"Alongside the Commonwealth Games and Platinum Jubilee, they will make 2022 a year to remember, bringing the nation together as we build back stronger from the pandemic."

To view the full list of the 10 teams announced today, click here.

<< Back to previous page

News powered by